Pages Navigation Menu

Adventures in Urban Homesteading

Resources Cited in the Book

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×

Corrected “Garden Planning Chart” for Appendix C

Throughout the book, I’ve mentioned this resource list as a source of additional information. Certain chapters contain references to specific information — like building a goat milking stand — you can find here. Simply look under the chapter heading to find the resource for the skills and information referred to in that chapter. Websites that apply to the general topic (but are not referenced in specific chapters) are listed under the Part headings.

General Homesteading and Sustainable Living
Edible Communities: www.ediblecommunities.com
Food Politics: www.foodpolitics.com
La Vida Locavore: www.lavidalocavore.org
Living a Simple Life: www.livingasimplelife.com
Local Harvest: www.localharvest.org
Meetup (search for homesteading groups in your area): www.meetup.com
Mother Earth News: www.motherearthnews.com
Slow Food: www.slowfoodusa.org
Ten Apple Farm: www.tenapplefarm.com
Transition US: www.transitionus.org

Part 1: What It Means to Homestead in the City
EatWhereULive: www.eatwhereUlive.com
Ghost Town Farm: ghosttownfarm.wordpress.com
Root Simple: www.rootsimple.com
The Urban Conversion: www.theurbanconversion.com

Chapter 2
Myths vs. Facts About Food Producing Animals
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) About Food Producing Animals
“Right to Dry” campaign: www.laundrylist.org/en/right-to-dry

Chapter 3
“So You (Don’t Particularly) Want to Be a Farmer” essay: http://bit.ly/hEg6RH

Part 2: City Farming
American Community Gardening Association: www.communitygarden.org
City Farmer: www.cityfarmer.info
Garden Guides: www.gardenguides.com
GardenWeb Forum: www.forums.gardenweb.com/forums/
Guerilla Gardening: www.guerillagardening.org
International Seed Saving Institute: www.seedsave.org
National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service: www.attra.org
Organic Gardening: www.organicgardening.com
Organic Gardening Forum: www.forums.organicgardening.com/eve
Vertical Veg: www.verticalveg.org.uk

Chapter 7
Build a PVC cold frame: www.pvcplans.com/ColdFrame.pdf

Part 3: Raising Animals for Food
Aquaponic Gardening Forum: www.aquaponicscommunity.com
The Aquaponic Source: www.theaquaponicsource.com
Backyard Aquaponics: www.backyardaquaponics.com
Backyard Chicken Forum: www.backyardchickens.com
BackYard Hive: www.backyardhive.com
Bee Landing: www.beelanding.com
Bush Farms (natural beekeeping): www.bushfarms.com
Fiasco Farm (goat resources): www.fiascofarm.com
The Goat Spot Forum: www.thegoatspot.net
Growing Power: www.growingpower.org
Murray McMurray Hatchery: www.mcmurrayhatchery.com
My Pet Chicken: www.mypetchicken.com
Practical Aquaponics: www.aquaponics.net.au

Chapter 11
Coop designs: www.backyardchickens.com/coopdesigns.html
Coop plans: www.back-yard-chicken-coop.com
Chicken forums: www.backyardchickens.comwww.mypetchicken.com

Chapter 12
Herbal wormer and hoof trimmer: www.hoeggergoatsupply.com
The Goat Spot message board: www.thegoatspot.net
Milk stand plans: www.fiascofarm.com/goats/milkstand.html
Photo slideshow of goat births: http://bit.ly/gC7YP8

Chapter 13
Processing a rabbit: http://bit.ly/h0jnPt

Chapter 14
Small tilapia orders: www.rdaquafarms.com

Chapter 15
Build Langstroth hive: www.bees-on-the-net.com/langstroth-hive.html
Build top-bar hive: www.biobees.com/images/build_top_bar_hive/

Part 4: A Homemade Life in the City
Cheeseslave: www.cheeseslave.com
National Center for Home Food Preservation: www.uga.edu/nchfp
USDA Complete Guide to Home Canning: www.foodsaving.com/canning_guide
The Weston A. Price Foundation: www.westonaprice.org

Chapter 16
Build a solar dryer: www.builditsolar.com/Projects/Cooking/cooking.htm and click on “food drying”
Build a root cellar: www.motherearthnews.com (search “basement root cellar”)

Chapter 17
Cheese making supplies: www.cheesemaking.com
Build a cheese press: www.fiascofarm.com/dairy/cheesepress.html

Chapter 18
Instructional video for spinning on a drop spindle: http://bit.ly/i29QX9

Chapter 19
Make castille soap: www.crafte-revolution.com (Making Liquid Soap in Your Own Kitchen)

Part 5: Making the Most of What You Have
Build It Solar: www.builditsolar.com
Fallen Fruit: www.fallenfruit.org
Find Solar: www.findsolar.com
Neighbor Fruit: www.neighborfruit.com

Chapter 20
Tiny house video tour: http://bit.ly/hF9SQ6
Build solar space heater: www.motherearthnews.com/Do-It-Yourself/1977-09-01/Mothers-Heat-Grabber.aspx
Solar space and water heaters: www.builditsolar.com
Build a solar cooker: www.solarcooking.org/plans
Bikes with extra storage: www.workcycles.com

Chapter 21
Reduce water usage on public lands: Ask your city to use Xeriscapeinstead of grass
Make a rain barrel: www.epa.gov/region3/p2/make-rainbarrel.pdf
Commercial rain barrel equipment: www.aquabarrel.com
Gray water compatible cleaning products: www.bio-pac.com

Chapter 23
Article on urban fishing spots: http://bit.ly/gGUmQv

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×
0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 0 Email -- 0 Flares ×